Judicial & State Officials

Judicial Officials

Chief Circuit Judge of the 47th Judicial District

Circuit Court is the court of general jurisdiction that hears civil matters involving more than $5,000, capital offenses and felonies, land dispute title cases and contested probate
cases. Circuit Court has the power to issue injunctions, writs of prohibition and writs of mandamus and to hear appeals from District Court and administrative agencies.

As a division of Circuit Court with general jurisdiction, the family court division of Circuit Court further retains primary jurisdiction in cases involving dissolution of marriage; child custody; visitation; maintenance and support; equitable distribution of property in dissolution cases; adoption; and, termination of parental rights. In addition to general jurisdiction of Circuit Court, the family court division of Circuit Court, concurrent with the District Court, has jurisdiction over proceedings involving domestic violence and abuse; the Uniform Act on Paternity and the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act; dependency, neglect, and abuse; and, juvenile status offenses.

One judge may serve more than one county within a circuit. Some circuits contain only one county but have several judges, depending on population and caseload. Circuit judges serve in eight-year terms.

Honorable James W. Craft, II
156 Main Street, Suite 205
Whitesburg, KY 41858

(606) 633-2259

District Judge of the 47th Judicial District

District Court is the court of limited jurisdiction and handles juvenile matters, city and county ordinances, misdemeanors, violations, traffic offenses, probate of wills, arraignments, felony probable cause hearings, small claims involving $2,500 or less, civil cases involving $5,000 or less, voluntary and involuntary mental commitments and cases relating to domestic violence and abuse.

Honorable Kevin R. Mullins
156 Main Street, Suite 101 C
Whitesburg, KY 41858

(606) 633-4222

Commonwealth's Attorney

Hon. Edison Banks

47th Circuit: Letcher

115 East Main Street
2nd Floor, Suite A
Whitesburg, KY 41858

Phone: (606) 633-8121
Fax: (606) 633-1638


Circuit Court Clerk

Mike Watts

Letcher County Courthouse   

156 Main St., Suite 201
Whitesburg, KY 41858
Phone: (606) 633-7559
             (606) 633-1048



State Officials

State Representative Angie Hatton (D)

Mailing Address:
95 Main Street
Whitesburg, KY 41858

Frankfort Address:
702 Capitol Avenue
Annex Room 373
Frankfort, KY 40601

(606) 633-3880
(502) 564-8100 Ext. 669 - Annex

Annex: angie.hatton@lrc.ky.gov

House 2017 - Present

State Representative John Short (D)State Representative John Short (D)

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1133
Hindman, KY 41822

Frankfort Address:
702 Capitol Avenue
Annex Room 352
Frankfort, KY 40601

(606) 785-9018 - Work
(502) 564-8100 Ext. 668 - Annex

Annex: http://www.lrc.ky.gov/Messages/H092.aspx

House 2011 - Present

State Senator Johnny Ray Turner (D)State Senator Johnny Ray Turner (D)

Mailing Address:
849 Crestwood Drive
Prestonsburg, KY 41653

Frankfort Address(es):
702 Capitol Avenue
Annex Room 254
Frankfort, KY 4060
1700 Capitol Avenue
Capitol Room 330
Frankfort, KY 40601

(606) 889-6568 - Home
(502) 564-6136 - Annex
(502) 564-6136 - Capitol

Annex: http://www.lrc.ky.gov/Messages/S029.aspx

Senate 2001 - Present

U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell (R)

U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell (R)For more information on U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell please follow this link: http://www.mcconnell.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=OfficeLocations







U.S. House of Representatives Congressman Hal Rogers (R)

U.S. House of Representatives Congressman Hal Rogers (R)For more information or to contact Hal Rogers please follow this link: http://halrogers.house.gov/contact  





Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin (R) 

For more information please follow this link: http://governor.ky.gov/office/Pages/ip.aspx